When a user is removed or deleted from the organization, their diagrams will remain, and ownership of their diagrams will be automatically transferred based on the rules below.
Ownership transfer rules for diagrams
This section explains the ownership transfer rules for diagrams in private and shared folders that belong to deleted users.
Note: After ownership of the diagrams belonging to the deleted user has been transferred to the new owner, the new owner and all admins will receive an in-app notification. In addition, all admins will receive email notifications about the diagrams’ ownership transfer.
Private folder diagrams
If the deleted users have diagrams in their private folders, their diagrams will be transferred based on the rules below:
- Ownership of the diagrams will transfer to the oldest active member of the organization with admin privilege.
- The diagrams will be moved to a private folder under the targeted admin’s account, and the folder is named as the deleted user’s name.
Shared folder diagrams
If the deleted users have diagrams in the shared folders, ownership of their diagrams will be transferred based on the rules below:
- Ownership of the diagrams will transfer to the oldest active collaborator in the folder with “owner” or “editor” privilege. The diagrams will remain in the shared folder.
- If the only collaborator in the shared folder with “owner” or “editor” privilege is the deleted user, the diagrams’ ownership will not be transferred, and the diagrams will remain in the shared folder.
Note: Oldest active admin for private folder diagrams transfer is based on the admin’s time of joining the organization. For shared folder diagrams’ ownership transfer, the oldest collaborator is based on the collaborator’s time of joining the folder.