Contents
1  Restrictions for legacy plans
Solutions for legacy plan restrictions
     2.1  Option 1: Sharing via public link function
    
2.2  Option 2: Switch from legacy plan to new plans
           
2.2.1  Migrate to the Team plan
           
2.2.2  Migrate to the new Free plan

 

As of 27/11/2019, Cacoo has replaced the Free plan and Plus plan. 

  • If your free account is registered before 27/11/2019, your Free plan is a legacy Free plan. Please refer to this page for a detailed comparison between the legacy and new Free plan.
  • The Plus plan has been replaced by the Pro plan, but the functions for existing Plus plan users are not affected. Users who registered after 27/11/2019 will fall under the Pro plan

Restrictions for legacy plans

With legacy plans, you can only invite legacy plan users to your Cacoo space, folders or diagrams. Some of the restrictions are stated below: 

  • You cannot add users who are new to Cacoo or registered under the new plans (i.e. after 27/11/2019). 
  • You cannot add the above mentioned users to your shared folders, private folders or diagrams as collaborators.
  • You can only add legacy plan users, i.e. those who registered before 27/11/2019.

Solutions for legacy plan restrictions

To share your diagrams and continue to collaborate with new users or new plans’ users, you can consider the following options and steps. 

Option 1: Sharing via public link function

You can use the public link function to share diagrams not only with new plan users but also with non-Cacoo users. Once you enable "Public link," anyone who knows the link to the diagram can view and edit it. 

If you want to share diagrams with specific Cacoo users only, please switch from the legacy plan to the Team plan or new Free plan.

 

Option 2: Switch from legacy plan to new plans

You can share diagrams with the new plan users under the Team plan or the new Free plan.

Plus plan users can switch and migrate their diagrams to a new plan after their Plus plan contract expires. Before migrating to the new plan, if you are in the Plus plan paid subscription, you will need to cancel the Plus plan and downgrade (automatically) to the legacy Free plan first. 

After switching to the legacy Free plan, follow the options and steps below to migrate your diagrams to the new plan. 

If you are already in the legacy Free plan, follow the options and steps below to start your diagrams migration. 

 

Migrate to the Team plan

When you are at the legacy Free plan,

  1. Click on the profile icon at the global navigation and select Settings.
  2. On the plan details page, select Upgrade to Pro.

 

A plan upgrade page will prompt. In this case, select more than 1 member to migrate to a Team plan and click Upgrade now. You’ll be prompted to enter your billing information, such as your credit card details and contractor information. Thereafter, select Submit Payment

Notes: 

  • The diagrams migration will not be successful if there are collaborators in the private or shared folders. Before the migration, please REMOVE all the collaborators from the private and shared folders.
  • When the migration is successful, your legacy space diagrams will be migrated to the new space.
    If the migration is not successful, your diagrams will remain in the legacy space and a new space will be created without any diagrams being migrated.
  • As your previous sharing settings will not be migrated, please re-add the collaborators after the migration is completed. 
  • When you upgrade to the Team plan, your private space will be migrated and replaced by a new organization space. 
  • If another user has previously shared a diagram or folder with you, please ask the user to re-share them via a public link or organization folder after your migration. 

 

Migrate to the new Free plan

When you are at the legacy Free plan,

  1. Click HERE for the migration. 
  2. It will redirect you to the migration confirmation page in Cacoo. Select the Migrate Now button.
    *Please ignore the notice: “If you have folders or diagrams shared with other users, you can add one user….” as the new Free plan specifications have changed to unlimited users. 

Notes: 

  • The new Free plan has limited exporting and sharing options.
  • The migration process will only migrate diagrams owned by the migrator. 
  • When the migration is successful, your legacy space diagrams will be migrated to the new space.
  • The migration function will not transfer your sharing settings to the new Free plan
    - If you wish to continue to share your diagrams and folders with the previous users, please re-invite the collaborators to your organization after the migration is completed.
    - If a legacy user has previously shared a diagram or folder with you, please ask the user to re-share them via a public link after your migration.