Cacoo offers multiple sharing options that make it simple to collaborate with other users by allowing you to share your diagrams, shapes, or templates in a variety of ways.

Contents

Sharing via Home

Sharing via link

2.1  Sharing the diagram link

2.2  Sharing image link/embed code

Sharing via email

 

Sharing via Home 

You can share private diagrams in your Home folder with specific collaborators or teams. Furthermore, within the Home folder, you can view who you shared each diagram with.

To share your diagram via the Home folder, follow the steps below. 

  1. Go to Home on the left sidebar.
  2. Hover over the diagram you wish to share and select the more icon (...) > Share.
  3. It will open your diagram in a new page with the Sharing pop-up screen.
  4. Enter the user name, team name, or email address at the search field, select the collaborators you wish to share, and click Add.

Tips: 

  • You can set the collaborator’s privilege to viewer or editor. Viewers can only view the diagram, while Editors can edit the diagram.
  • You can view which diagram in Home has been shared according to the sharing icon displayed next to the diagram’s name.
    To view the collaborators, hover over the sharing icon and it will display their usernames.

 

Notes: 

  • Diagram-level sharing of diagrams in the Home folder to other collaborators is available for all Cacoo plans except Pro Plan.
  • Only diagrams that are saved in the Home folder can be shared with collaborators. Diagrams in private folders cannot be shared with collaborators.
  • Moving a shared diagram from Home to a private folder will cause the collaborators to lose access to the diagram.
  • Moving a shared diagram from Home to a Shared folder will also prompt a confirmation message to give the Shared folder access to the collaborators, if they do not have access to the Shared folder.

 

Sharing via link

You can easily share your diagrams, templates, or shapes with others by using a link. Sharing via link allows you to share as a diagram, an image, or an embedded diagram on your website. 

Sharing the diagram link

To share the diagram link,

  1. Click the Share button on the top navigation area and the sharing dialog will prompt. 
  2. If you wish to share the diagram with anyone that is outside of your organization, please enable the Public link radio button and further restrict the access to “view the diagram” or “edit the diagram” only. 
  3. Select Copy Link to copy the diagram link.

Tip: If you are sharing with the collaborators within your organization, you are not required to enable the public link.

 

Notes: 

  • Without turning on the Public link, if you share the link with someone outside your organization, they won’t be able to see the diagram.
  • By giving the “edit the diagram” permission, anyone can access your diagram via the link to edit and change your diagram content. 

 

Sharing image link/embed code

To share the link to display the diagram as an image, or the embed code to embed your diagram in an external webpage, 

  1.  Click the Share button on the top navigation area and the sharing dialog will prompt. 
  2. If you wish to share the image link or embedded diagram to the public, please enable the Public link radio button and restrict the access to “view the diagram” only. 
  3. Select Copy link to copy the image link or select Copy code to copy the embed code. 

Notes:

  • Without turning on the Public link, if you share the diagram with someone outside your organization, they won’t be able to see the diagram image or diagram embedded on your website.
  • By giving the“view the diagram” permission, anyone can see the diagram displayed by the image link or embed code. 

 

Sharing via email

You can share your diagram, shape, template, or sheet with multiple people by inviting them via email. 

To share via email, 

  1. Click the Share button on the top of the navigation area.
  2. In the Collaborators tab, click the + icon and key in the username or email address of the collaborator you would like to add.
  3. Select Invite. Their username and email address will move into the Collaborators section.

Notes: 

  • Sharing via email is only available for legacy plans - old free plan and plus plan users only. 
  • If you are under the legacy plans, you can only invite other legacy plan users via email. If the collaborators are under the new plans or have not yet signed up for a Cacoo account, you are unable to invite them via email. 



Related articles:

Sharing via shared folders
Embedding your Cacoo diagram in an external webpage
Sharing diagrams, shapes, and templates from your private folder